Curators Face to Face

Curated around the theme Becoming Real, this year’s Hong Kong International Black Box Festival presents four world-renowned productions that challenge our perceptions of reality in different ways and encourage audiences to question their reading of the everyday. In a world where the boundaries between what is real and unreal have become blurred, where social media is flooded with factual and fake information, where anything goes in the competition for hit rates and profit, and where AR and VR technologies develop so quickly that we question the reliability of what we feel and perceive, it can be hard not to feel drained and isolated. But if the real world community around us breaks down, where can we create a new sense of belonging? Could theatre, one of the oldest art forms, be a place for us to come together and face the challenges ahead? In this session, festival co-curators Fung Wai Hang and Low Kee Hong talk face to face with Lai Sim Fong about this year’s festival, about the world we live in, and about their observations of contemporary theatre and how artists respond to the circumstances around them.

Date:
6 October 2018 (Saturday)

Time:
11:00am–1:00pm

Venue:
HKRep Rehearsal Hall No. 1 (6/F, Sheung Wan Civic Centre, 345 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong)

Speakers:
Fung Wai Hang & Low Kee Hong, Co-curators, Hong Kong International Black Box Festival

Moderator:
Lai Sim Fong

Language:
Cantonese

Registration: 
Free admission. Limited capacity on a first come, first served basis. Please register online in advance.

 

REGISTER NOW


Adverse weather arrangements
Changes will be announced here if typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force.

About Fung Wai Hang


A fine talent in stage art, Fung Wai Hang is not only an actor but also a director, playwright and programme coordinator. Fung obtained an MFA in Theatre Practice at the University of Exeter and was a graduate of the inaugural class of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts’ School of Drama. Fung has taken on various positions of the HKRep, including Principal Actor, assistant to the Artistic Director, the Project Coordinator and Resident Director. Now she is Assistant Artistic Director of HKRep, coordinating and planning the company’s Black Box productions.

 

About Low Kee Hong


As Head of Theatre, Performing Arts at the West Kowloon Cultural District, Low Kee Hong is responsible for formulating the district’s artistic direction and strategies for drama and theatre arts. In this role, Low has overseen the launch and co-presentation of a number of projects and programmes that engage in new discussion and discourse around contemporary modes of creation. These include Hong Kong’s first International Workshop Festival of Theatre; a three-year programme on new directions in scenography (“What is Stage”); a three-year programme on dramaturgy (“Dramaturgy and Beyond”); international residency programmes with partners in Scotland, New Zealand and Australia; new commissions with international festivals, such as Samson Young’s One or Two Stories, or Both with the Manchester International Festival, Teatro de los Sentidos and Tang Shu Wing’s Our Death Won’t Hurt Anybody with GREC Festival Barcelona; and West Kowloon’s first original Cantonese musical The Great Statesman featuring Cantonese opera elements.

About Lai Sim Fong
Lai Sim Fong graduated with an MFA in Theatre Practice from the University of Exeter, UK, where she studied under psychophysical actor training master Phillip Zarrilli. Recent directing work includes the Hong Kong Repertory Theatre production Etiquette and the Artelier production Spoken Light. Lai was also the dramaturg of Hong Kong Repertory Theatre’s Red and Attempts on Her Life. Between 2014 and 2016, Lai was the dramaturg at Pants Theatre Production, where she was responsible for house programme design, audience development and outreach. In 2017, she worked as independent dramaturg at the Documentary Theatre Festival Hong Kong. She has also presented her work in the UK and Poland.

 

 

Public Seminar by Stefan Bläske: Dramaturgy and Political Theatre Today

As part of the “Dramaturgy and Beyond” programme co-organised by West Kowloon and the School of Drama at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Stefan Bläske presents a public seminar on his practice as a dramaturg, in particular his work at the International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM). IIPM, a theatre and film production company founded by Milo Rau in 2007 for the creation and international utilisation of his theatre productions, actions and films, dramaturgy and research, is a critical department in the investigation and treatment of historical and sociopolitical conflict. In this seminar, Stefan Bläske, the production dramaturg of IIPM’s Five Easy Pieces, shares the creative processes employed by the company and explores the dramaturgy of political theatre today.

Date:
6 October 2018 (Saturday)

Time:
3:30pm–6:30pm

Venue:
Studio Theatre, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (1 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai)

Speaker:
Stefan Bläske

Co-moderators:
Low Kee Hong & Janice Poon

Language:
English with simultaneous Cantonese and Mandarin interpretation

Registration: 
This event is co-organised by West Kowloon and the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and is an extension of the talk "Curators Face to Face". Priority will be given to participants attending both events on a first come, first served basis. Places are limited, please register online in advance.

REGISTER NOW


Adverse weather arrangement
Changes will be announced here if typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force.

About Stefan Bläske

Photo: Marc Stephan

Dr Stefan Bläske is a dramaturg and lecturer. After studying Theatre and Media Studies, Philosophy, Public Management and Governance, he worked as a research associate at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg and as a graduate assistant at the University of Vienna, and completed a PhD study on “Self-reflection and media reflection in contemporary theatre”. Between 2011 and 2013 he worked as a dramaturg at the Residenztheater in Munich, and in 2014 he was mentor for direction and dramaturgy at the Otto Falckenberg School of Performing Arts. Bläske has worked with the International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM) since 2015, when he joined director Milo Rau for the production The Dark Ages (Residenztheater, Munich).

Co-organised by

策划人面对面

是次香港国际黑盒剧场节以「寻常见・见寻常」为策展方向,带来四个独特的演出,激发观众一同思考习以为常的「真/实」。现今世界真假难辨,极端个人化的社交媒体资讯泛滥,内容农场不断捏造新闻争取最大利润。事实上,社会的确充斥着超越我们想像的荒谬事件,而虚拟科技的进步更模糊了我们的感知,使我们身心俱疲。在这前所未见的混杂状态下,剧场这种古老而又讲求当下共感共存的艺术形式能怎样拾回人类的信念与力量?艺术家的创作又能如何作出回应?两位策划人将与主持赖闪芳进行对谈,除了阐述香港国际黑盒剧场节策划理念与社会的关系,亦会分享观察当代剧场后的所得。

日期:
2018年10月6日(星期六)

时间:
上午11时至下午1时

地点:
香港话剧团1号排练室(上环文娱中心6楼)

讲者
香港国际黑盒剧场节联合策划冯蔚衡刘祺丰

主持
赖闪芳

语言:
粤语

报名:
费用全免,名额有限,先到先得。请先作网上登记。

 

立即登记


恶劣天气安排
如八号或更高之烈风或暴风信号生效,节目将视乎情况作出调整。有关节目的最新消息,请留意网页公布。

有关冯蔚衡


集演员、导演、创作人、节目策展于一身的剧界精英。英国艾赛特大学舞台实践艺术硕士﹙MFA﹚及香港演艺学院戏剧学院首届毕业生。 1988年加入香港话剧团,曾任首席演员、艺术总监助理、创作统筹、驻团导演等职位,现为香港话剧团助理艺术总监,负责统筹及策划话剧团黑盒剧场的节目。

 

有关刘祺丰


现为西九文化区管理局表演艺术主管(戏剧),负责制定文化区戏剧发展的艺术方向及具体策略。在他的带领下,团队推出一系列围绕当代创作模式并着重推动创新的活动。当中包括香港首个国际剧场工作坊节;探讨舞台美学的「什么是舞台」和剧场构作的「超越剧场构作」三年计划,他与苏格兰、新西兰及澳洲签订创意交流及合作协议,并于多个国际艺术节中委约作品,如于英国曼彻斯特国际艺术节呈献杨嘉辉的「One of Two Stories, or Both (Field Bagatelles)」、于GREC Festival de Barcelona呈献由邓树荣戏剧工作室及感官剧场联合创作的《就让世界黑下去吧》。他同时制作西九首部原创并糅合粤剧原素的粤语音乐剧《大状王》,引领本地创作走向国际。

 

有关赖闪芳
毕业于英国艾赛特大学舞台实践艺术硕士,跟随Phillip Zarrilli 学习。亦曾于香港中文大学现代语言及文化研究、德国弗莱堡大学及美国加州大学柏克莱分校交流,分别主修德语、文化研究及西洋艺术史。作品曾于利物浦,曼彻斯特及波兰等发表。赖氏为自由身戏剧顾问。最近作品为香港话剧团《红》及《安・非她命》担任文学研究;导演作品包括香港话剧团《相请不如偶遇》及女同志编作剧场《十四首情诗》。 2014-16为一条裤制作担任戏剧文学主任; 2017年担任第一届香港纪录剧场节戏剧顾问。

 

 

Stefan Bläske公开讲座:政治剧场的剧场构作

西九文化区与香港演艺学院戏剧学院合办的「超越剧场构作」活动之一。是次讲座邀请了《五段小品》的剧场指导Stefan Bläske分享他在国际政治谋杀学院(International Institute of Political Murder)的工作。 IIPM于2007年由Milo Rau创立,是一间剧场及电影制作公司。 IIPM除了发表剧场及电影作品外,亦进行剧场构作及其他研究工作,研究范围包括不同的历史及社会政治冲突。是次讲座中,Stefan Bläske将详细分享他于IIPM的创作过程,与参加者探索剧场与社会政治当中的戏剧构作。

日期:
2018年10月6日(星期六)

时间:
下午3时30分至6时30分

地点:
香港演艺学院实验剧场(香港湾仔告士打道1号)

讲者:
Stefan Bläske

联合主持
刘祺丰及潘诗韵

语言:
英语(设粤语及普通话即时传译)

报名:
费用全免。西九文化区和香港演艺学院联合主办的「Stefan Bläske 公开讲座:政治剧场的剧场构作」所探讨的题目亦为「策划人面对面」讲座的延伸内容。现登记并出席「策划人面对面」者,可优先登记「Stefan Bläske 公开讲座:政治剧场的剧场构作」。优先名额有限,先到先得。

立即登记


恶劣天气安排
如八号或更高之烈风或暴风信号生效,节目将视乎情况作出调整。有关节目的最新消息,请留意网页公布。

有关Stefan Bläske

摄影:Marc Stephan

剧场指导及讲师,研习剧场及媒体,哲学及公共治理。毕业后于爱尔朗根-纽伦堡大学担任副研究员,亦于维也纳大学任职助教,并完成《当代剧场的自我及媒体反思》博士研究。 2011至2013年担任德国Residenztheater的剧场指导。 2014年起为慕尼黑Otto Falckenberg Schule任教舞台导演及戏剧构作。现为国际政治谋杀学院的剧场指导,曾与瑞士导演Milo Rau创作《The Dark Ages》。


联合主办